Ayodhya Holy Site in History

The city of Ayodhya, in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh is about 600 kms to the east of the Indian capital city of New Delhi. You might catch your fancy to know that the name “Ayodhya” has been derived from the name of King Ayudh. King Ayudh has been mentioned in ancient Hindu scriptures as the forefather of Lord Rama.

The root word of “Ayudh” comes from the Sanskrit word “Yudh”. Loosely translated, “Ayodhya” means “unconquerable” or “not to be fought”. Ironically, this holy land has been witness to as many as 76 battles ever since the year 1528 AD to 1934.

1528 AD to 1530 AD –> In the year 1528, Mir Baki, the Commander-in-chief of Mughal Emperor Babur, destroyed the temple built on the holy land of Shri Ram Janmabhoomi at Ayodhya. During Babur’s reign, four battles were fought.

1530-1556 AD –> During Humayun’s reign, 10 battles were fought.

1556 –1606 AD –> During Akbar’s reign, 20 battles were fought.                                                                                                

1658—1707 –> During Aurangzeb’s reign, 30 battles were fought.

1770—1814 AD –> During NawabSaadatAli’s reign, fivebattles were fought.

1814-1836 –> During NaseerundiinHaider’s reign, three battles were fought.

1847 –1857 –> During Wajid Ali Shah’s reign, two battles were fought

1912-1934 –> During the British regime, two battles were fought.